Karen Johnson, DASA President, wearing a mask and carrying a dragon boat drum

Congratulations is due to all DASA teams, athletes, and volunteers. Through perseverance, innovation, cross-training, and love for our sport, we have endured the most difficult years in the history of dragon boating and we are ready to thrive!

Volunteerism is the backbone of our club and plays a critical role in our programming. We know that it is getting harder to recruit and retain these volunteers – and attention to this will be paramount. 

We are deeply proud of our athletes who are:

  • enjoying a paddle at Henderson Lake,
  • “showing up” at regatta’s (even on the ice!),
  • digging hard at the Canadian National Competition,
  • joining other clubs across Canada to compete at the highest level of our sport while we grow our own high performance crews, and,
  • trying out for the Canadian National Teams.

The Year of the Tiger (2022) was about making big changes, but now in the Year of the Rabbit, we’re meant to take a step back, and (if you can believe it) chill. Rabbits are quick, but gentle creatures, and 2023 will be a year when thoughtful action is rewarded more than huge risks. After all the difficulty and tumult of the last few years, 2023 is for cultivating peace and patience! With this in mind, our outstanding Board is working hard to establish strong roots and in order to blossom into a strong and healthy organization!

I share Dragon Boat Canada’s President Scott Murray’s words – “I care deeply about Dragon Boat Canada and the sport of Dragon Boat Racing. I care passionately that every single individual who gets into a dragon boat has a safe, inspiring and stimulating experience. I care vigorously that our sport grows; that it’s presented in its most polished form to its audience both close-up and far away. I care intensely that our sport improves, that it innovates and engages, that it evolves and expands, that it continues its goodness and transcends to greatness.”

Live, Love and Dragon Boat!

Karen Johnson – DASA President

Our Mission

To promote, support and develop dragon boating by providing training, equipment and events.

Our Vision

Providing opportunities for all paddlers to reach their full potential by nurturing passion and enjoyment for dragon boating.

Core Values

Culture, Sportsmanship, Communication, Safety, Fitness and Fairness.


The Dragonboat Association of Southern Alberta (DASA) is a non-profit society that promotes the sport of dragon boating in Southern Alberta. DASA represents many teams and individuals in the local dragon boat community. We also act as an umbrella organization for a variety of dragon boat teams and individual paddlers. The club offers opportunities for members to enjoy this great, low-cost team sport.  See Paddling At-a-Glance for information on available programs. 

DASA is governed by an elected board of directors who oversee the club’s governance. DASA activities are also supported by a large, diverse team of dedicated volunteers who are passionate about dragon boating.  

Dragon boating is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Our membership reflects this trend, growing to over 150 members in 2019. Despite COVID limitations, DASA membership remained strong throughout the pandemic, and is back on track for record growth in 2023.

Board of Directors

Click the name to send an email to the position/person.

President – Karen Johnson
Term: 2022 – 2024

Past President – Leanne DuMontier
Term: 2022 – 2024 (non-voting position)

*Vice-President – Vacant
Term: 2022 – 2024

*Moves into President’s role

Treasurer – Becky Lore
Term: 2023 – 2025

Secretary – Linda Gilbert
Term: 2022 – 2024

Communications Director – Kala Beers
Term: 2023 – 2025

Safety Director – Vacant
Term: 2023 – 2025

Team Liaison – Romina Senneker
Term: 2022 – 2024

Technical Director – Dave Hunt
Term: 2023 – 2025

Youth Director – Vacant
Term: 2022 – 2024

Promotions Director – Jean Schnarr
Term 2023 – 2025

Directors at Large (5)
Term: 2023 – 2024

Chinese Community (appointed, non-voting position) – Angel & Norman McIntosh